My Top 5 Female Radio Djs

I’ve been listening to a lot of radio lately and like everyone else I flip through radio stations. But there are those jockeys whose shows I literally sync my between-meetings and afterhour drives with so I can get to tune in and listen. You get female Dj’s that are NOW, and then you get those that were born for radio. What’s funny is that these ladies are gorgeous they give the term “face for radio” a different meaning.

  1. Azania Mosaka – Power Lunch (Power FM)

This is one REAL lady whom at some stage got me wanting to take a stab at radio. I’ve been a fan since her days at Metro. She’s very well spoken, hella funny with some of that contagious laughter; knows her art and music as well; makes you want to spend thousands of Madibas (South African Rands) ko Exclusive Books. I love how she conducts her interviews; she somehow manages to hook you into the more conversational chats you even forget they are “interviews”. I’ve called into her shows when she was at Metro FM and still do at Power FM 98.7 and have noticed that she always works with a team of warm, equally funny people. And for some reason my friends always say I have her resemblance…I don’t know about that. In my opinion, she is queen of radio but that’s me. You can catch her show, Power Lunch weekdays 12:00 – 15:00 on Power FM 98.7

2. Mapaseka Mokwele – Home (Kaya FM)

Last year’s MTN radio award winner –  she’s affectionately known to her readers as “ous’ Pasi” and has been in media for as long as I can remember. Can I just come clean as say I didn’t really know what it is she exactly did on TV/Radio until a few years ago when she became SABC 3’s newsreader. I remember one of the things that were so captivating about her were her colourful jackets and how she pulled off the cornrow look with such grace in a world filled with weaves & extensions. How I discovered her show, Home on Kaya FM was through a friend who’d always make noise about it on Whatsapp every single night. This is one show I sit a little longer in the car for after gym before getting into the house. She explores EVERYTHING about relationships and somehow gets listeners to open up about theirs. Home airs midweek, Mon, Tue, Thu from 19:00 – 20:00 and 19:00 – 21:00 on Wednesdays on Kaya FM 95.9.

3. Poppy Ntshongwana – House of Poppy (5fm)

Confession, I used to see poppy as “lekgoa le lentsho” translation “Black outside, white inside” and this pathetic opinion was only formed by listening to 1 or two Fresh Drive shows where she was part of Fresh’s team as a news reader. Although I’m not crazy about Fresh, I’d always find myself occasionally dialing into the show and later realized…I wasn’t tuning in to listen to Fresh, it was Poppy I was after.lol. I then started following her on Twitter and Instagram and her fashion style sealed the deal. She brings this chilled, husky voice and that join-in-even-if-you-don’t-know-what-we’re-laughing-at lazy laugh. She now has her very well-deserved own mid-morning show called House Of Poppy and I thoroughly enjoy it; which puts me in a difficult position when Aza’s show starts on the last hour of her show. She has this dry sense of humor and a bit of sarcasm I can handle. House of Poppy airs weekdays from 10:00 to 13:00 on 5fm 98.0.

5. Bertha Charuma – Best of Both Worlds (Radio 2000)

Although I don’t listen to her show on Radio 2000 (for obvious reasons), I still believe one of Metro FM’s biggest boo-boos was letting this gem go. Dear Metro FM, please #bringbackourgirl on the mid-morning slot. I mean just when we were comfortable with Aza, she left for Power and Lord knows what you’ve been trying to turn that slot into…
For formality’s sake, her show on on Radio 2000 airs weekdays between 12:00 & 15:00.

5. Thando Thabethe – Beats by Demand (5fm)

At 24, she’s probably the youngest on my list – to be honest, I didn’t know who she was before 5fm but I later found out she’s from Yfm. She does traffic midweek on The Roger Goode Radio Show but I discovered how talented she was when I bumped into her weekend show, Beats by Demand one Saturday while driving. Her voice alone was just too captivating for me to carry on browsing and then her energy nje cemented my listenership. Since I’ve always found Sunday radio a bit uninspiring and honestly think she’s a breath of fresh air and has a very bright future in radio.
You can catch her reporting traffic on The Roger Goode show Mon-Fri, 16:00 – 19:00 on her Sunday show, Beats by Demand; 10:00 – 14:00 on 5fm.

 

Note to self: Please give vernac radio stations a chance every now and then.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Great article. I think my top 5 would be, Monki, Heidi, B.traits, Annie Mac and AnnKnightengale Though I may be spelling that last one wrong. I have an article about women and Sex Appeal in the industry Love to hear your feedback 🙂

    1. matlhodim says:

      Hey. Thanks. Which radio stations do these ladies work for? Or are they club Djs?

      1. BBC Radio 1 DJs and they play world wide 🙂

Leave a Reply

